849 Logo (5k)

Troop 849
Manhattan Beach, CA
Boy Scouts of America

New Members
Scout Pages
Special Awards

Summer Camp




Last Updated:
  February 13, 1999

Site Map

About us
Contact us

General | Arrow of Light | Bridging | Presenting the Colors | Rank Advancement | Eagle Court Checklist | Eagle's Family Checklist | Trail of the Eagle | Flag Retirement | Simplified Flag Retirement

Arrow of Light Ceremony

  • Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, Webelos, and Arrow of Light candle log (optional)
  • Awards and certificates
  • 7 candle Arrow of Light prop
  • 8th candle to light the others
  • Webelos Den Leader
  • Cubmaster
  • Allowat Sakima -- OA leader in regalia

[OA Leader lights candles. ]

Webelos Den Leader. Will ________, ___________, ________, _________ and their parents please come forward.

The purpose of Cub Scouting is to light the way to Scouting. The first rank in Cub Scouting is bobcat. [Light the 1st candle. ] Before becoming a bobcat, the Scouts have learned the cub Scout promise, the law of the pack, the sign, handshake, motto, and salute.

The second rank is wolf. [Light 2nd candle. ] Here the cub Scout starts on the Scouting advancement trail by doing 12 achievements. As he enters third grade, the Scout works towards the bear rank. [Light the 3rd candle. ] Twelve more achievements and even more electives keeps the Scout learning new skills.

When the cub Scout enters the fourth grade, he becomes a Webelos Scout. They wear the Webelos tri-colors and work on activity badges. Webelos is the secret name for "We'll Be Loyal Scouts". The Webelos Scout is older, he can do more for himself. When he completes three months active participation, three activity badges, and has shown his willingness to learn about the Scout program, he receives his Webelos badge. [Light the 4th candle. ]

Now he will work on the Arrow of Light award. These Scouts have earned the citizen activity badge and at least two more of the four required badges. They know the Scout Oath and Law. They are well versed in the ways of a Scout. These Webelos Scouts have now earned the Arrow of Light award - the highest award a cub Scout can earn. [Light the 5th candle. Hand the badge and graduation certificate to the parents at this time to be given to their sons after the "SEVEN VIRTUES OF LIFE" is read. ]



Cubmaster. Webelos Scouts, the emblem you see before you represents the Arrow of Light award. The seven candles represent the rays in the Arrow of Light. As they are lighted, you will hear how they stand for the seven virtues of life.


WISDOM - Wisdom does not necessarily mean superior knowledge. It means putting to the right use the knowledge that one possesses.

COURAGE - Courage is not the quality that enables men to meet danger without fear. It is being able to meet danger in spite of ones fear.

SELF-CONTROL - Self control isn't limited to the control of ones temper, but control of one's self in all things; eating, playing, and even working and talking.

JUSTICE - Justice is the practice of dealing fairly with other without prejudice or regard to race, color, or creed.

FAITH - Faith is the conviction that something unproved by physical evidence is true. One 8 year old Cub Scout said that faith was when you turned the light switch, you knew the light would go on.

HOPE - Hope means to expect with confidence. Always hope for better things to come. A man without hope is of little use to himself or to his community.

LOVE - There are many kinds of love - Love of family, Love of home, Love of Fellowman, Love of God, and Love of country. All these loves are necessary for a full life.

If you live by the seven virtues, you will become a happy man. And a happy man is a successful man. It is now my pleasure to have your parents present you with your Arrow of Light badge.

Last updated April 1994.

Valid HTM 4.01, Valid CSS level 1 Contents of this page provided by Mike Vahey.
©2017 Boy Scout Troop 849, Manhattan Beach, CA. http://troop849.org/